Quick Facts
Download the accessible Fall 2025 Quick Facts digital flyer.
Fall 2026 Quick Facts: Enrollment Data
| Career | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
| Undergraduate | 18,545 | 2,736 | 21,281 |
| Graduate | 2,711 | 1,418 | 4,129 |
| Total | 21,256 | 4,154 | 25,410 |
| Residency | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
| Resident | 16,734 | 2,620 | 19,354 |
| Non-Resident | 4,522 | 1,534 | 6,056 |
| Total | 21,256 | 4,154 | 25,410 |
| Campus | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
| Flagstaff/Phoenix Bioscience Core | 18,490 | 934 | 19,424 |
| Statewide | 732 | 1,033 | 1,765 |
| Online/Personalized Learning | 1,671 | 2,129 | 3,800 |
| Yuma | 363 | 58 | 421 |
| Total | 21,256 | 4,154 | 25,410 |
| Gender | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
| Female | 13,222 | 2,919 | 16,141 |
| Male | 7,825 | 1,162 | 8,987 |
| Unknown | 209 | 73 | 282 |
| Total | 21,256 | 4,154 | 25,410 |
| IPEDS Ethnicity/Race(unduplicated; one value per student) | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
| American Indian/Alaska Native (5%) | 1,093 | 214 | 1,307 |
| Asian (5%) | 449 | 868 | 1,317 |
| Black/African American (4%) | 735 | 180 | 915 |
| Hispanic/Latino (28%) | 6,092 | 1,014 | 7,106 |
| Native Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islander (<1%) | 43 | 8 | 51 |
| U.S. Nonresident (International) (2%) | 491 | 40 | 531 |
| Not Specified (3%) | 508 | 150 | 658 |
| Two or more (6%) | 1,342 | 140 | 1,482 |
| White (47%) | 10,503 | 1,540 | 12,043 |
| Total | 21,256 | 4,154 | 25,410 |
| *All Declared Ethnicity/Race Values(duplicated; one or more values per student) | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
| American Indian/Alaska Native (8%) | 1,734 | 293 | 2,027 |
| Asian (9%) | 1,340 | 963 | 2,303 |
| Black/African American (7%) | 1,524 | 266 | 1,790 |
| Hispanic/Latino (28%) | 6,104 | 1,015 | 7,119 |
| Native Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islander (1%) | 333 | 40 | 373 |
| Not Specified (4%) | 862 | 181 | 1,043 |
| White (67%) | 14,912 | 2,148 | 17,060 |
| Total | 26,809 | 4,906 | 31,715 |
| Academic Level | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
| Freshman | 5,277 | 607 | 5,884 |
| Sophomore | 3,920 | 563 | 4,483 |
| Junior | 4,418 | 420 | 4,838 |
| Senior | 4,676 | 953 | 5,629 |
| Post Baccalaureate Undergraduate | 169 | 152 | 321 |
| Non-Degree Undergraduate | 85 | 41 | 126 |
| Graduate | 2,708 | 1,389 | 4,097 |
| Non-Degree Graduate | 3 | 29 | 32 |
| Total | 21,256 | 4,154 | 25,410 |
| Gender | Undergraduate | Graduate | Total |
| Female | 13,401 | 2,740 | 16,141 |
| Male | 7,724 | 1,263 | 8,987 |
| Unknown | 156 | 126 | 282 |
| Total | 21,281 | 4,129 | 25,410 |
| Average Age | |||
| Undergraduate | 21 | ||
| Graduate | 32 | ||
| Top Undergraduate Academic Plan by Enrollment(does not include Post-Baccalaureate Students) | |||
| Psychological Sciences (BS) | 1,557 | ||
| Biomedical Science (BS) | 877 | ||
| Pre-Nursing (BSN) | 875 | ||
| Criminology & Criminal Justice (BS) | 759 | ||
| Mechanical Engineering (BS) | 726 | ||
| Elementary Education (BSED) | 685 | ||
| Top Graduate Academic Plan by Enrollment | |||
| Physical Therapy-Entry Level (DPT) | 374 | ||
| Computer Information Technology (M) | 313 | ||
| Clinical Mental Health Counseling (MA) | 225 | ||
| Clinical Psychology (PSYD) | 186 | ||
| Occupational Therapy (OTD) | 186 | ||
| Clinical Speech - Language Pathology (MS) | 148 | ||
*Students may declare more than one ethnicity/race category. These counts are not to be used for federal IPEDS reporting, but to more accurately reflect student populations. Percentages will not sum to 100% due to total student headcount being used as the denominator.
Fall 2026 Quick Facts: FTE
| Career | Full-Time Equivalents |
|---|---|
| Undergraduate | 21,143 |
| Graduate | 4,265 |
| Total | 25,408 |
Fall 2026 Staff coming early Spring 2027
Fall 2026 full-time faculty by academic rank coming early Spring 2027
Fall 2026 full-time faculty by tenure and rank coming early Spring 2027
Fall 2026 average class size coming late 2026
- 107 Baccalaureate Degrees
- 56 Undergraduate Certificates
- 35 Graduate Certificates
- 64 Masters Degrees
- 21 Doctoral Degrees
- College of Arts and Letters
- College of Education
- College of Health and Human Services
- College of Social and Behavioral Sciences
- College of the Environment, Forestry, and Natural Sciences
- Maria and Steve Sanghi College of Nursing
- Office of the Provost
- Steve Sanghi College of Engineering
- The W. A. Franke College of Business
Northern Arizona University Institutional Accreditation
- Higher Learning Commission (HLC)
HLC telephone number (800) 621-7440 / (312) 263-0456
Northern Arizona University Program Accreditations
Average for an on-campus Undergraduate Arizona Resident for two semesters, 12-18 credits:
- $13,622 Tuition & Fees
- $15,804 Food & Housing
- $2,000 Personal Expenses
- $900 Books, Supplies, & Course Material
- $2,500 Transportation
- 883 Acres
- 44 Major Academic and Administrative Buildings
- 55 Support Facilities
- 26 Residential Buildings including On-Campus NAU Affiliated American Campus Communities
- Approximately 527,000 volumes, including government documents, maps, microforms, films and other media
- Access to over 153,000 electronic journal titles
- 10,735 Document Delivery items delivered to NAU users, and another 8,100 loaned to other libraries
- Access to 536,000 e-books
- 117,000 items in the Colorado Plateau digital archives
- 378,000 users in the library during FY26
More than 330 recognized professional, academic, service and social organizations, an intramural sports program, the Lumberjack student newspaper, and active residence hall organizations.
Member:
- NCAA Division I
- Basketball (Men/Women)
- Cross Country (Men/Women)
- Football (Men)
- Golf (Women)
- Indoor Track & Field (Men/Women)
- Outdoor Track & Field (Men/Women)
- Soccer (Women)
- Swimming/Diving (Women)
- Tennis (Men/Women)
- Volleyball (Women)
Fall 2025
The NAU Alumni Association represents more than 210,096 alumni (as of 9/30/2025)