Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes May 6, 2019

Please email corrections to Faculty.Senate@nau.edu.

I. Call to order/ Acceptance of Agenda and Minutes:

Joe Wegwert

Acting Faculty Senate President Joe Wegwert called the meeting to order in the Aspen A-C rooms of duBois at 3:04.

Acting FS President Joe Wegwert presented the agenda for approval. **A motion was made and seconded to accept the agenda.** The motion passed.

Joe presented the minutes of the March 25th and April 22nd Senate meetings for approval. **Motions** were made to accept the minutes. Both motions passed.

Members Present: Ira Allen, TS Amer (attended electronically), David Auty, Rodrigo Bastos de Toledo, Laura Blocher, Laura Bounds (attended electronically), Michael Caulkins, Jeannie Copley (attended electronically), Kate Ellis, Kathleen Finlayson, Bruce Fox, Amalia Garzon (attended electronically), Susan Harris, Meredith Heller, Ching-Hsun Huang, Tom Hughes (attended electronically), Ed Lee, Paul Lenze, Brian Levin-Stankevich, Yiqi Luo, Emily Manone, Amanda Meeks, Tammy Mielke, Mohamed Mohamed, Judith Montoya, Ishmael Munene, Therese Myers, Shirley Navarro, Marianne Nielsen, Sean Parson, Scot Raab, Tiffany Redies, Danielle Ross, Buck Sanford, Blase Scarnati, Anne Scott, Karen Sealander, Ed Smaglik, Michael Smith, George Speer, Roy St. Laurent, Rick Stamer (attended electronically), Laura Sujo Montes for Claudia Sturgis (attended electronically), Marieke Taney, Lisa Tichavsky(attended electronically), David Vining (attended electronically), Joe Wegwert, Lori Wilson, Gerald Wood, and Jessica Wood.

Those Absent:

Laura Blank, Rita Cheng, Samantha Clifford, Mandy Dang, Leilah Danielson for Alexandra Carpino, Dorothy Dunn, Sibylle Gruber, Laura Karnitschinig, Willie Odem, and Nicole Walker.

Also Present:

Jeff Berglund, Roger Bounds, Laurie Dickson, John Masserini, Kristen Morale, Matthew Muchna, Drew Ned, Grace Okoli, Julie Ryan, Diane Stearns, Shepherd Tsosie, Sheha Vissa, and another 50 faculty attended via Zoom.

II. Faculty Senate President's Report

Joe Wegwert

Joe reported on the following:

- Information gathered during the OGEI project is now being vetted and will continue its work over the summer and into the fall.
- The proposed amendments to the 2002 Senate Constitution, the 2013 Senate By-laws and COFS will need to move to the fall. It was hoped they could move forward this semester, but late changes that had been thought to be straight "simple' proved otherwise and there was not enough time needed to get those changes out to all faculty for a vote.
- The Senate will hold 2 summer sessions June 24th and July 29th. A sign-up sheet is being passed during the meeting.
- Gioia back in mid-June.
- There will be two feedback sessions on the HLC Draft report, May 8th and 9th.
- Senators were reminded that ABOR will hold its June 14th and 15th at NAU.

- Joe thanked all senators who have served on the senate and who are rotating off as well as
 those senators who served on the FSEC this year. He distributed certificates of appreciation to
 all.
- Joe noted that President Cheng could not be in attendance today. He stated that her attendance at the last two meetings were greatly appreciated.
- Joe also thanked Brian Levin-Stankevich for his service as interim Provost.

III. Provost's Report

Brian Levin-Stankevich

Interim Provost Brian Levin-Stankevich reported on the following:

- Brian noted that there have been many end of year celebrations and will culminate this year at the commencement exercises later this week.
- Diane Stearns has been selected as Provost and he has meet with her and some of the vice provosts to discuss various transition issues. He will attend his last PALC meeting this Wednesday.
- Work Load definitions and certificates have been proposed but not yet approved.
- There are various searches underway.
 - Four candidates have come to campus for CEIAS Dean search. He is hopeful there will be an announcement soon.
 - The search for an Interim Dean in the W.A. Franke College of Business has set up Zoom meetings with 2 candidates. A search for permanent dean will happen next year. At this time he is working with Eric Yordy to accept the role of Associate Dean in the coming year.
- There is an MSW Accreditation review tomorrow.
- In closing, he wished the faculty and senate all the best of luck and good fortune.

IV. Committee Council Reports

Committee/Council Chairs

Elections - Joe Wegwert

Elections were held intermittently throughout the meeting. The elections result are listed below.

Rights and Responsibilities Council - Anne Scott

Anne Scott, Chair of the R&R, Council noted the R&R Council will continue its work on the changes to the constitution and bylaws in the 2019-20 academic year. She wants this effort to proceed in a careful and researched manner. We have nothing to show for our work on COFS revisions she hopes whoever is elected to the Chair of R&R will get those changes discussed this year completed.

Joe noted Anne's hard work this year in working on the many task given to her. He presented her with flowers and a card of appreciation from her fellow senators.

Scholarship Committee - Michael Caulkins

Michael Caulkins, a member of this year's scholarship committee announced the name of this year's recipient, Kiara Ibarra. Kiara was unable to join us today to accept her award, but hopefully she'll be able to attend September's meeting.

Parking and Shuttle Services Committee Report - Scot Rabb

Scot Raab, FS liaison to the parking and shuttle services committee discussed some of the work under way across campus. The topics included changes to improve pedestrian traffic on south campus, garage pricing will increase, and we will no longer use parking stickers but will use license plates.

Draft HLC Writing Committee Report - Bruce Fox

Bruce Fox, a representative on the committee to draft a response to HLC noted that a draft will be released and all should look it over and provide feedback. He noted there will be two feedback sessions as mentioned earlier or you can send your feedback to him or Gioia Woods.

V. Liberal Studies Program Review Report

Jeff Berglund/Bruce Fox

Jeff Berglund and Bruce Fox fielded questions regarding their video presentation on the review assessment initiative around effective writing and essential skills for liberal studies programs.

ELECTION RESULTS

Gioia Woods Vice President **Ed Smaglik** President Kate Ellis **Dot Dunn** Treasurer Secretary Parliamentarian **Blase Scarnati Past President Bruce Fox** Senator-at-Large Marianne Nielsen Senator-at-Large **Tammy Mielke**

COUNCIL CHAIRS:

Council on LearningRick StamerR&R CouncilLaura BlocherPlanning and BudgetDanielle RossNon TenureMicahel CaulkinsPT FacultyIshmael MuneneDistance EdJeannie Copley

COMMITTEES:

Election Committee: Rodrigo Bastos de Toledo

Marianne Nielsen

Lori Wilson

By Laws Committee: Scot Raab

Still needs one more member

Budget Committee: Needs two members
Newly elected member to the various councils:

Council on Learning
R&R Council
Council on Planning
Part-time Faculty

Needs a member to fill a 3 year term
Ira Allen elected to a 3 year term
Needs a member to fill a 3 year term

Distance Education Laura Blank

LIASONS TO SENATE SPONSORED UNIVERSITY COMMITTEES:

Academic Standards Mohamed Mohamed Diversity Committee Mohamed Mohamed

Faculty Grants Program David Vining

Intercollegiate Activities Kathleen Finlayson

Liberal Studies Bruce Fox
Library David Auty

University Undergraduate Needs a member to fill a one year term

University Graduate Michael Smith

VI. Announcements/Old/New Business/Adjournment

Joe Wegwert

A call went out for old or new business. Ed Smaglik, newly elected Vice President on behalf of Gioia Woods and the entire Senate presented Joe with flowers and a card of appreciation from his

fellow senators for his work as interim president. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:42pm.

